The Hidatsa are a Siouan people. Hidatsa are enrolled in the federally recognized Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation in North Dakota.



The Ho-Chunk, also known as Hoocąągra or Winnebago, are a Siouan-speaking Native American people whose historic territory includes parts of Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, and Illinois.



The Hopi or “the peaceful people” were referred to as Pueblo people by the Spanish because they lived in villages “pueblos” in Spanish.  They constructed large apartment-houses and had an ancient Native American culture in southeastern Utah, northeastern Arizona, northwestern New Mexico and southwestern Colorado.



The Iowa or Ioway, known as the Báxoǰe in their own language, are a Native American Siouan people. Today, they are enrolled in either of two federally recognized tribes, the Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma and the Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska.



 The Iroquois “people of the longhouse” are a historically powerful northeast Native American confederacy known during the colonial years to the French as the Iroquois League.  The Iroquois have absorbed many peoples into their tribes as a result of warfare, adoption of captives, and by offering shelter to displace peoples.



The Karuk people are an indigenous people of California, and the Karuk Tribe is one of the largest tribes in California.



The Kichai tribe was a Native American Southern Plains tribe that lived in Texas, Louisiana, and Oklahoma. Their name for themselves was K’itaish.



The Kickapoo name means “stands here and there” referring the the tribe’s migratory patterns.  The name can also mean “wanderer.”



The Kiowa tribes are natives of the Great Plains that migrated southward from Montana the Rocky Mountains in Colorado.  In 1867, the Kiowa were forcibly removed to a reservation in southwestern Oklahoma.

  Kiowa Ghost song.  01:49

  Kiowa Mescal song. Daylight song.  01:08


The Lakota are a Native American tribe. Also known as the Teton Sioux, they are one of the seven Sioux tribes of Plains, the Očhéthi Šakówiŋ or Seven Council Fires. Their current lands are in North and South Dakota.


The Mandan are a Native American tribe of the Great Plains who have lived for centuries primarily in what is now North Dakota. They are enrolled in the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation.



The Ojibwe name for the tribe was Manoominii meaning “wild rice people”, as they cultivated wild rice as on of their most important food staples.  Their historic territory originally included an estimated 10 million acres in Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. They are descended from the Old copper Culture people believed to have been well-settled in that territory for more than 1,000 years.



The Meskwaki are a Native American people often known to European-Americans as the Fox tribe. They have been closely linked to the Sauk people of the same language family.



The Miami are a Native American nation originally speaking one of the Algonquian languages. Among the peoples known as the Great Lakes tribes, it occupied territory that is now identified as Indiana, southwest Michigan, and western Ohio.



The Missouria or Missouri are a Native American tribe that originated in the Great Lakes region of United States before European contact. The tribe belongs to the Chiwere division of the Siouan language family, together with the Iowa and Otoe.



The Modoc are a Native American people who originally lived in the area which is now northeastern California and central Southern Oregon.



>>to return to previous page – right click on back arrow <<


Word count: 583